Connect with us


In Oyo, INEC migrate voters ahead elections




From Stella Obi, Ibadan

INDEPENDENT National Electoral Commission (INEC), in Oyo State has migrated some eligible voters in 815 polling units under 28 Local governments in the state.

  The Residents Electoral Commissioner, AdeniranTella, disclosed this while addressing newsmen at the INEC Office, in Ibadan, on Thursday.

DrTella, who said the redistribution of voters in the affected polling units was to decongest saturated polling units which usually make voting cumbersome on election day.

  He said the commission has already pasted the lists of polling units in all the affected 28 council areas in the state to allow transparency in the electoral process ahead of the forthcoming elections.

  The INEC Commissioner said eligible voters can also visit the commission’s website, to check their names on the register of voters and confirm the location of their Polling Units.

His words: “ Polling units with migrated voters have already been pasted in all the affected 28 local government areas of the state, comprising 815 polling units, to see and at the same time to be well informed ahead of polls.

  “This has been done in consultation with all the stakeholders in the electioneering process. Importantly, it should also be noted that eligible voters can as well visit the INEC voters’ verification system on or to check their names on the register of voters and at the same time confirm the location of their polling units, where they will vote on election day.

  The local government areas and number of affected units are Afijio – 04, Akinyele – 60, Atiba – 57, Egbeda – 64, Ibadan North – 60, Ibadan North East – 49, Ibadan North West – 26, Ibadan South East – 93, Ibadan South West – 34, Ibarapa Central – 04, Ibarapa East – 03, Ido – 23, Irepo – 07, Iseyin – 02, Itesiwaju – 03, Kajola – 02, Lagelu – 65, Ogbomoso North – 07.

You May Also Like:-  Jubilation as churches reopen in Lagos

Others are Ogbomoso South – 09, Ogo Oluwa – 04, Oluyole – 68, OnaAra – 45, Orelope – 04, Oriire – 09, Oyo East – 39, Oyo West – 33, Saki West – 26, Surulere – 15

  He added that: “Closely related in the distribution of voters is the identification of polling units which was discovered in the recently conducted mock accreditation exercise carried out in the selected LGAs using BVAS. It is indeed clear that some voters could not easily identify their polling units. This should not happen on election day, hence the pasting of affected polling units with migrated voters.”

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *