Connect with us


NBC revokes licenses of AIT, Ray Power Rhythm FM, 49 other broadcast stations



NATIONAL Broadcasting Commission (NBC) has revoked the broadcast licences of 52 broadcast stations.

  The affected stations are  Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communications Ltd) FM Abuja, Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communications Ltd) FM Lagos,  Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communications Ltd) FM Yenagoa,  Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communications Ltd) FM Port Harcourt, Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communications Ltd) FM Jos, Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communication Ltd) Benin, AIT/Ray Power FM (DAAR Communication ltd) Network, Greetings FM (Greetings Media Ltd), FM Network Tao FM (Ovidi Communications Ltd), FM Okene, Zuma FM (Zuma FM Ltd), FM Suleja Crowther FM (Crowther Communications Ltd) FM Abuja, We FM (Kings Broadcasting Ltd), FM Benin Linksman International Ltd, Keffi Bomay Broadcasting Services Ltd Abuja, MITV (Murhi International Group Ltd) Ibadan, Classic FM (Pinkt Nigeria Ltd) Port-Harcourt, Classic FM (Pinkt Nigeria Ltd) Lagos, Classic TV (Pinkt Nigeria Ltd) Lagos, Beat FM (Megalectrics Ltd) Lagos, Cooper Communications Ltd Lagos,  Splash FM (West Midlands Ltd) Ibadan,  Osun State Broadcasting Corporation, Rock City FM (Boot Communications Ltd) Abeokuta, Family FM (Kalaks Investments Nig. Ltd) Ilugun, Space FM (Creazioni Nig. Ltd) Ibadan, Radio Jeremi (Radio Jeremi Ltd) Effurun and Breeze FM (Bays Water Ltd) Akure.

  Others are  Vibes FM (Vibes Communication Ltd) Benin, Family Love FM (Multimesh Broadcasting Co. Ltd) Port-Harcourt, Wave FM (South Atlantic Media Ltd),. Kogi State Broadcasting Corporation,  Kwara State Broadcasting Corporation, Niger State Broadcasting Corporation, Gombe State Broadcasting Corporation, Lagos State Broadcasting Corporation, Ogun State Broadcasting Corporation, Ondo State Broadcasting Corporation,  Rivers State Broadcasting Corporation, Bayelsa State Broadcasting Corporation, Cross River State Broadcasting Corporation, Imo State Broadcasting Corporation, Anambra State Broadcasting Corporation, Borno State Broadcasting Corporation, Yobe State Broadcasting Corporation,  Sokoto State Broadcasting Corporation, Zamfara State Broadcasting Corporation, Kebbi State Broadcasting Corporation, Jigawa State Broadcasting Corporation,  Kaduna State Broadcasting Corporation,  Katsina State Broadcasting Corporation, Lagos DSB and  Silverbird TV (Silverbird Communications Co. Ltd).

You May Also Like:-  Govt procures new tractors for Anambra farmers

  According to a statement by NBC, today,  the move followed the publication of a list of stations yet to renew their licences. It said a two-week waiver was given to them in May to do so after which they risked the revocation of their broadcast licences.

  The commission explained that “some licensees are yet to pay their outstanding debts, in contravention of the National Broadcasting Commission Act CAP N11, Laws of the Federation of Nigeria, 2004, particularly section 10(a) of the third schedule of the Act.

  “Therefore, after due consideration, NBC hereby announces the revocation of the licenses of the…stations and gives them 24 hours to shut down their operations. Our offices nationwide are hereby directed to collaborate with security agencies to ensure immediate compliance.”

  The broadcast regulator said the continued operation of the “debtor stations is illegal and constitutes a threat to national security”.

  It called on other broadcast stations yet to renew their licences for the present duration to do so within the next 30 days or risk punishment. According to NBC, Friday’s list is the first batch of offenders. A second tranche will soon be released, the regulator said.

  “The Commission also calls on all IPTV (Internet Protocol Television) and all other broadcast stations that are streaming online to register with the Commission to avoid disconnection,” it added.

  “Broadcasters should note that having a DTT or FM license does not warrant a broadcaster to stream online; they are two different licences.”

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.