Connect with us


Anambra gets two new ministries, renames some existing ones



…Ministry of Tertiary Education scrapped

TWO new ministries have been established by Anambra State government while one was scrapped.

  The two newly created ministries are Ministry of Homeland Affairs and the Ministry of Petroleum and Mineral Resources while the former Ministry of Tertiary Education was scrapped.

  Describing the exercise as part of efforts to reposition and recalibrate government in order to deliver on its mandate to ndi Anambra, a circular signed by Head of Service, Okwy Igwegbe explains that the state has streamlined operation sections in the new ministries, as well as some other ministries into model professional departments. Some ministries, departments and agencies were also renamed or repositioned.

  According to the circular, while Ministry of Education (formerly comprising Ministry of Basic Education and Ministry of Tertiary Education, Science and Technology) now has Technical and Vocational Department, Schools Department, Educational Services, Educational Development Centre and Higher Educational Department, the Ministry of Petroleum and Mineral Resources has Mineral Resources and Energy, Hydrometerology, as well as Scientific Innovations, Research & Development Departments. Also, ICT Department in defunct Ministry of Tertiary Education has been moved to Anambra State Information and Communication Technology Agency (ANSICTA) while previous Industry Department in Office of the Deputy Governor had been returned to Ministry of Commerce and Industry with Ministry of Works now to be known as Ministry of Works and Infrastructure.

  Other new designations are former Ministry of Youth Entrepreneurship and Creative Economy, now renamed Ministry of Youth Development; former Ministry of Economic Planning, Budget and Development Partners’ Coordination now Ministry of Economic Planning and Budget while erstwhile Ministry of Social Welfare, Children and Women Affairs is now known as Ministry of Women and Social Welfare with Ministry of Trade and Commerce renamed Ministry of Commerce and Industry as  Ministry of Public Utilities becomes Ministry of Power and Water Resources.

You May Also Like:-  Anambra endows Achebe Prize for Nigerian writing

  Similarly, Ministry of Information and Public Enlightenment is to be known henceforth as Ministry of Information while hitherto Ministry of Diaspora Affairs, Indigenous Art Works, Culture and Tourism would be known as Ministry of Culture, Entertainment and Tourism, with Ministry of Housing and Urban Renewal now renamed Ministry of Housing.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *