Connect with us


UK reviews COVID-19 guidelines for int’l travel



THE United Kingdom says it is scrapping its controversial “traffic light system” of grading countries according to the COVID-19 risk guideline that is currently in operation for international travel into England.

  It says rules for international travel to England will change from the red, amber, green traffic light system to a single red list of countries with simplified travel measures for arrivals from the rest of the world.

  The forthcoming changes to its travel guidelines, is to commence as from 4 am on Monday, 4th of October, 2021.

  Also, under the new arrangement, the rules for travel from countries and territories not on the red list will depend on the travellers’ vaccination status. As from the same date,  fully vaccinated travellers will not need a pre-departure test when they arrive in England from a non-red list country.

  According to the review, all passengers arriving from red list countries from the 4th of October 4 at 4 a.m., regardless of vaccination status, will only be allowed into England if they are a British or Irish national or have a residence in the UK.

  In a series of tweets weekend, the British transport secretary, Grant Schapps, announced changes to the rules governing international travel into England for British citizens, to see an end to pre-departure tests for fully-vaccinated travellers.

  According to Schapps, “From the 4th of October, the UK government will maintain a red list of high-risk countries and move the rest of the world onto a single footing.

   “From Monday, 4 October, if you’re fully vaccinated, you won’t need a pre-departure test before arrival into   England from a non-red country and, from later in October, you will be able to replace the PCR test taken on Day 2 of your return with a cheaper lateral flow test.

You May Also Like:-  US may run out of supplies for protective kits – Officials

  “We’ll also be introducing a new simplified system for international travel from Monday 4 October, replacing the current approach with a single red list and simplified measures for the rest of the world – striking the right   balance to manage the public health risk as No.1 priority,” Schapps noted.

  However, all passengers will still need to fill in a passenger locator form ahead of travel. Nigeria is currently placed on the amber list.

  According to the guidelines, unvaccinated passengers returning from non-red countries (including Nigeria) will still need to take pre-departure tests, Day 2 and Day 8 PCR tests during a 10-day period of self-isolation. Test to release on Day 5 remains an option to reduce the self-isolation period.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.