Oyo legislators visit NASS


CLERK of the National Assembly, Amos Olatunde has advocated a strong inter parliamentary synergy among the state houses of assemblies in the country to create a common goal for quality legislation for Nigerians.

  Mr Olatunde made this known while receiving Oyo State House of Assembly Committee on Inter Parliamentary Relations, led by its Chairman, Mr Olamide Akinajo, in his office, at the National Assembly complex, Abuja, on Tuesday.

  The clerk, who stressed the need for state assemblies to synergise towards possible ways of implementing financial autonomy for the legislature, urged them to make laws that are people oriented.

  He challenged them to ensure that the legislature is well funded in the making of budget.

READ MORE:  NASS, NERC to partner on legal framework for power sector investment protection

  “We are the less funded, but the most shouted about, is the legislature. There is a need to provide enough fund to make us function properly”, he stated.

  He admonished the Oyo lawmakers to see their involvement in the Central Parliamentary Association (CPA) as important, advising them to always participate more in parliament activities within and outside the country.

  The NASS Clerk disclosed that, the Oyo State delegation was the second state Assembly his office had received this year, despite the COVID-19 pandemic.

  Olatunde advised the delegation to set aside their party affiliations to build Oyo State and Nigeria.

READ MORE:  FG seeks fresh 2020 budget review by NASS

  Earlier, leader of the delegation, Olamide Akinajo said they were on a five-day working visit to the National Assembly, and expressed confident that the visit will enhance working relations between Oyo State House of Assembly and the National Assembly.

  The lawmakers will continue their working visitation to speaker of the House of Representatives Femi Gbajabiamila, and House of Reps members and senators representing Oyo State at the National Assembly.

  Some members of the delegation included vice chairman of the committee and member representing Afijio State Constituency, Mr Seyi Adisa, as well as the lawmaker, representing Iseyin/Itesiwaju Constituency, Mr Bamidele Adeola.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here