Akeredolu wins against odds


GOVERNOR Rotimi Akeredolu has been declared  winner of Ondo governorship election held on Saturday.

Mr Akeredolu, the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), won in 15 out of the 18 local government areas of the state.

 Based on the results announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) at its headquarters in Abuja, Eyitayo Jegede, candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) won in the remaining three local governments.

  The INEC Returning Officer and Vice Chancellor, University of Ibadan (UI), Idowu Olayinka, made the announcement at about 3 p.m. on Sunday, after all the results across the state’s 18 local government areas had been collated.

SEE ALSO:  Akeredolu receives certificate of return

  According to Mr Olayinka, a total of 572,745 valid votes were recorded while 18,448 were rejected, and about 16,000 votes cancelled.

  While the APC candidate polled 292,830, Mr. Jegede scored 195,791 votes, a difference of 97,039 votes.

  The incumbent deputy governor in the state and candidate of the Zenith Labour Party (ZLP), Agboola Ajayi, came a distant third by scoring 69,127 votes.

  A total of 17 candidates took part in the election.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here