Connect with us


Anambra Assembly renews LG Chairmen’s term



ANAMBRA State House of Assembly has renewed the tenure of Transition Committee Chairmen for all the 21 Local Government Areas for another three months. 

  This was sequel to a letter received by the House from Gov. Willie Obiano for consideration of the nominees as Caretaker Committee Chairmen in the 21 Local Government Areas (LGAs) of the state.

The House renewed their tenure during plenary which was presided over by Speaker, Uchenna Okafor on Tuesday.

The House extended their tenure in line with section 280 of the Local Government Law of Anambra State, 1999, as amended upon Gov. Obiano’s request.

The lawmakers had at the Committee of the whole considered the governor’s request and found it meritorious. This was carried out by the legislators by inviting the nominees’ committee chairmen in batches because of the observance of COVID-19 protocols for screening and consideration.

Speaker Okafor read out the confirmation of their appointments to the House, while the lawmakers unanimously adopted it through voice votes.

In his speech shortly after their confirmation, the speaker urged the LG transition committee chairmen to attract more dividends of democracy to their respective council areas, urging them to assist Gov. Obiano in making his achievements visible at the grassroots.

Okafor urged the newly confirmed transition committee chairmen to work with their representatives in the State House of Assembly to enforce COVID-19 laws in their council areas.

“Most of our constituents expect a lot from you. Make sure developments reach the LG areas as well as the governor’s achievements visible in your areas. Now that we have COVID-19 pandemic, your role is to liaise with your representatives to ensure the necessary protocols are observed in your areas. This is the time to show that you are your brother’s keeper (Onye aghana nwanne ya) in your areas to ensure palliatives get to your constituencies. I wish you people good luck in your renewed tenures. Congratulations,” Okafor said.

You May Also Like:-  Anambra State Legislative Funds Management Bill scales second reading

Responding on behalf of the newly confirmed committee chairmen, Transition Committee Chairman of Idemili North Local Government Area, Raphael Nnabuife thanked the House and Gov. Obiano for giving them another opportunity to pilot affairs of the state at local government area levels.

Nnabuife also assured that they will continue to work for the benefit of the state.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.