Connect with us


Adesina, Seriki, 39 others get ambassadorial nomination



President Muhammadu Buhari has forwarded names of ambassadorial nominees to the Senate for confirmation.

 Forty two nominees including ex-minister of State for Defence, Ademola Seriki, made the list of Mr President for the appointment, pending Senates screening and confirmation.

 According information from the presidency, Buhari requested the Senate to screen and confirm 41 non-career and one career ambassadors for an immediate appointment.

  Media reports indicate that president’s letter of request was read on the floor at plenary by Senate president, Ahmad Lawan.

  National Light gathered that among the nominees included Debo Adesina (Oyo), ex-Minister of State for Defence, Ademola Seriki (Lagos) and Dare Sunday Awoniyi (Kogi).

  Meanwhile, the president had on Thursday approved the reconstitution of the board of directors of the Nigeria Bulk Electricity Trading Company Plc (NBET).

   It was reported that the appointment, which takes immediate effect, will see Zainab Ahmed, minister of finance, take over as the new chairman of the board an appointment that came barely 24 hours after the president appointed a former police IG, Suleiman Abba, as the new BoT chairman of the Nigeria Police Trust Fund.

  According to tweets on the Twitter handle of the Nigerian presidency, the board will also be constituted by the non-executive director from the ministry of power which would be represented by a staff member not below the level of a director.

  Others appointees include Alex Okoh of Bureau of Public Enterprises who will serve as a non-executive director, the Director-General of Debt Management Office (DMO), Patience Oniha, also got appointment as a non-executive director.

You May Also Like:-  Osodieme launches operation wear-your-face-mask

  Director-General of the budget office of the federation, Suleyman Ndanusa, former Director- General of Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) Ben Akabueze, and former president, Nigeria Society of Engineers (NSE), Engr. Mustapha, Balarabe Shehu also made the list approved by the president.

  In another report, President Buhari approved the appointment of new Medical Directors (MDs) for Neuro-Psychiatric Hospital, Calabar, Cross River State, and Federal Medical Centre, Jalingo, Taraba State.  

  The new MDs, according to a statement from presidential spokesman, Femi Adesina are; Bassey Eyo Edet and Aisha Shehu Adamu, respectively. Edet hails from Akpabuyo Local Government Area of Cross River State.

  He graduated from the University of Calabar in 1998. He is a fellow of the National Postgraduate Medical College in Psychiatry, and also a fellow of the National Institute of Management Consultants.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *