Connect with us


Tiger Woods named finalist for World Golf Hall of Fame



Tiger Woods was named one of 10 finalists for the World Golf Hall of Fame’s 2021 class in the first year he’s been eligible for the honor, they announced on Tuesday.

Woods is joined by Johnny Farrell, Tom Weiskoph and Padraig Harrington among the men who were named finalists. Dottie Pepper, Dandra Palmer, Beverly Hanson and Susie Maxwell Berning are the four women who were nominated. Marion Hollins and former PGA Tour commissioner Tim Fincheim make up the contributor category, which replaced the Lifetime Achievement category this year.

“The Nominating Committee has selected 10 finalists who represent the highest caliber of golfers and contributors,” World Golf Foundation CEO Greg McLaughlin said in a statement. “The recent enhancements to the World Golf Hall of Fame Induction criteria provide a great process to ensure the most worthy of candidates are being considered. We are grateful to the Nominating Committee for their work and anticipate the Class of 2021 being one of our strongest to date.”

Woods has won 82 times on the PGA Tour since he turned pro in 1996, and has won 15 major championships — most recently The Masters last April. He is currently searching for his 83rd career win, which would break a tie with Sam Snead for the most wins of all time. The 44-year-old has played three times on Tour this season, most recently finishing in 68th at The Genesis Invitational last month. 

This year marks the first that the World Golf Hall of Fame lowered its eligibility requirements from 50 to 45 years old or three years since retirement. The finalists were selected by a “nominating committee” made up of 26 people, including six current Hall of Fame members. A 20-person “selection committee” will make the final decision in a vote, which is expected to take place next week

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *