Connect with us


Nkpor New Auto Spare Parts elects executives



NEW Auto Spare Parts Traders Association, Nkpor, has finally held their election which saw the re-election of majority of their past executives into office for a second term.

  The election formally slated to hold January 16, 2020, at the market but postponed amidst tension and for security reasons later held at Bethany House, Onitsha, under tight security.

 Addressing newsmen, the Commissioner for Trade, Commerce, Markets and Wealth Creation (TCMW), Uchenna Okafor said the choice of venue and non-interference of government was to ensure free and fair election.

“His Excellency, Governor Willie Obiano is very security conscious. To restore the confidence of traders, we brought this election to this secured environment to ensure that traders do the right thing”, said Okafor.

  The Anambra State Market Amalgamated Traders Association (ASMATA) President General, Chief Ikechukwu Ekwegbalu said that he was happy to witness the election which he adjudged as credible, free and fair.

  Also, Director of Markets, Ministry of TCMW, Nkiruka Eboh-Nwosu thanked all stakeholders for their patience, saying that the commotion people were envisaging did not happen as traders voted their choices.

  After a meticulous and strenuous accreditation and voting via option A4 open ballot system, the incumbent President, Chief Elisius Ume-Ozokwelu won overwhelmingly with 397 votes.

  The executives comprised; Chief Elisius Ume-Ozokwelu, President; Mr. Ikechukwu Onyegbu, Vice President; Mr. Uchenna Malobi, Secretary; Mr. Christopher Okeke, Assistant Secretary; Mr. Ignatius Ezeike, Treasurer; Mr. Alexander Orji, Financial Secretary.

  Others were; Mr. Chukwujekwu Nwankwo, Public Relations Officer; Mr. Ikechukwu Ikegbunam, Welfare officer; Mr. Okechukwu Onwudiwe, Secular bearer; Mr. Chibuzor Okeke, Provost.

You May Also Like:-  Communal clashes: Ebonyi donates 100 motorcycles to security agencies

  Presenting his acceptance speech, Chief Ume-Ozokwelu thanked Governor Obiano, the commissioner and electoral committee for their objectivity, assuring the traders that his leadership will improve within the next four years.

  According to the VP, Ikechukwu Onyegbu” We shall perfect the project we started which included; re-sinking of water borehole, tarring of intra-market roads, purchasing of two giant electricity generators to minimize noise in the market.

  Moreover, the Secretary, Malobi who said that he would serve the market with the best of his ability described the Commissioner for TCMW as a rare breed.

  Meanwhile, the Zonal ASMATA, Oyi LGA, Mr. Chike Obiegbu while inaugurating the executives, charged them to run an inclusive leadership and not to disappoint the traders who gave them the mandate.

  However, the major market’s presidential aspirant, Mr. Stephen Ofodile though present refused to stand in for election, claiming that he was not satisfied with the peaceful accreditation supervised by both Ministry of TCMW and ASMATA.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.