Connect with us


AFCON: Rohr recalls Akpeyi, Musa for Benin



NIGERIA’S Super Eagles coach, Gernot Rohr has revealed his squad for the AFCON 2021 qualifier against Republic of Benin with Daniel Akpeyi and Ahmed Musa recalled.

  The duo headline a list of 23 players released on Wednesday evening with goalkeeper, Akpeyi, earning a recall to the Super Eagles for the first time since AFCON 2019 in Egypt as replacement for long-term absentee, Francis Uzoho.

  Uzoho has been ruled out for over six months after he picked up a serious injury in the international friendly against Brazil earlier this month in Singapore.

  Akpeyi was in superb form at the weekend as he kept a clean sheet for Kaizer Chiefs in their victory over defending champions, Mamelodi Sundowns in the South African Premier League.

  Also back in the team are duo of 2018 World Cup hero, Musa and central defender, Kenneth Omeruo, with both players recalled after returning from their injuries.

  Meanwhile, Stoke City powerhouse, Oghenekaro Etebo has been placed on standby due to his injury alongside Leon Balogun while Greece based midfielder, Anderson Esiti has lost his place to Portugal-based defensive midfielder, Mikel Agu, who is joined by Ramon Azeez who retains his shirt.

  Nigeria begin their campaign for a ticket in Cameroon 2021 when the Super Eagles take on neighbours, the Squirrels of Benin at the Godswill Akpabio Stadium, Uyo on Wednesday, 13th November, before flying to Maseru to play Lesotho’s Crocodiles four days later.

Full List of Invited Players

  Goalkeepers: Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Heartland FC); Maduka Okoye (Fortuna Dusseldorf, Germany)

You May Also Like:-  Senegal win AFCON title after 60yrs

  Defenders: Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Chidozie Awaziem (CD Leganes, Spain); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Bryan Idowu (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia)

  Midfielders: Alexander Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Mikel Agu (Vitoria Guimaraes, Portugal); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Ramon Azeez (Granada FC, Spain)

  Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nassr, Saudi Arabia); Victor Osimhen (Lille OSC, France); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium); Emmanuel Dennis (Club Brugge, Belgium); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France);

  Standby: Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Peter Olayinka (SK Slavia Prague, Czech Republic); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City, England)

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *