Connect with us


Okafor becomes Anambra Speaker



Agbodike elected Deputy Speaker

FOLLOWING the inauguration of seventh session of Anambra House of Assembly (ANHA) yesterday, the state legislature has elected principal officers to pilot its affairs until 2023.
Member Representing Ayamelum Constituency, Uche Victor Okafor, emerged as Speaker after his nomination by Member Representing Onitsha North II, Ibuzor Edward Obi. The motion to nominate Okafor was seconded by Member Representing Dunukofia Constituency, Lawrence Ezeudu.
Member Representing Ihiala II Constituency and immediate past Deputy Majority Leader, Pascal Agbodike, was elected Deputy Speaker. Agbodike was nominated by Member Representing Njikoka I Constituency, Timothy Ifedioramma and seconded by Member Representing Orumba North Constituency, Emeka Aforka.
Other principal officers elected by the state legislature are Nnamdi Okafor as Majority Leader with Emeka Aforka becoming Deputy Majority Leader.  Lawrence Ezeudu was elected as Chief Whip with Deputy Chief Whip position going to Beverly Nkemdiche.
Onyebuchi Ofor was elected as Minority Leader with Ebere Ejiofor emerging as Deputy Minority Leader as Minority Whip post went to Somtoochukwu Nkem Udeze and Douglas Nwachukwu Egbuna returned as Deputy Minority Whip.
Speaking while presiding a maiden plenary of the House, Speaker Uche Okafor expressed  gratitude to all members for selecting him, crediting their choice to God’s will.
“I am most honoured and privileged to be elected speaker among all these great men and women. I give all the glory to God. I salute our working governor, Chief Willie Obiano, for remaining steadfast. He has transformed the state in all aspects and indeed ndi Anambra are happy.
I thank the leaders of our great party for piloting the affairs of APGA from 2006 till date. I expect that the Seventh Assembly will make laws that will transform the state and the life of our people. I promise that we shall renew the confidence imposed in us.
We shall maintain cordiality with the judiciary to ensure separation of powers. The seventh assembly shall sustain all good deeds of the sixth assembly and possibly surpass them by enacting people oriented laws,” he stated.
Speaking further at the inaugural session, Okafor promised to leave no stone unturned in the task ahead.
“On my part as speaker, I promise to serve in the best of my abilities and also meet up with the expectations of being a speaker. I assure you that the interest of the state will be placed above all by my leadership. I call for the support of  Ndi Anambra to enable the seventh assembly record more legislative accomplishments.
I thank my colleagues for the confidence imposed in me in selecting me as the new speaker of the seventh assembly. I will respect individual and collective opinions. As we assume our legislative functions today, I pray that the Almighty God grant us wisdom,” he continued.
The inauguration ceremony attracted dignitaries across the Anambra political spectrum, including National Chairman of All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), Victor Ike Oye, Secretary to state Government (SSG), Prof. Solo Chukwulobelu, Head of Service, Harry Udu, among others.
It will be recalled that APGA won 24 out of the total 30 seats in the legislative house at the last March 23 general election , with People’s Democratic Party (PDP) rounding off the remaining six seats.
About 14 seats of the newly inaugurated House are occupied by ranking members while 16 are new members.



Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *