Connect with us


Owerri High Court named after Justice Oputa



A NEWLY built high court complex in honour of the late Justice Chukwudifu Akunne Oputa was commissioned in Owerri, Imo State, yesterday.
Performing the commissioning ceremony, the Ag. Chief Judge of the federation, Justice Tanko Muhammed, who was represented by Justice Amina Augie, expressed joy that Imo State now have a laudable high court with all the needed state of the arts equipment that will enable ease of court proceedings and dispensation of justice in the state.
In his speech, the governor of Imo State, Rochas Okorocha, who used the occasion to recount over 100 projects he had executed in the state since he came in 2011, said he had no regrets over the  bad names meted to him currently by the people who see style of his governance negatively. He said that if he had listened to god-fathers, he would end up not achieving landmark achievements his outgoing regime has recorded in the state.
He charged the state judiciary to ensure proper utilization of the court and facilities in it so that justice will get to the common man and the elite positively.
Earlier in his address at the ceremony, the Imo State Chief Judge, Justice Paschal Nnadi, described the commissioning ceremony as a major milestone in the annals of the history of judiciary in the state.
The chief judge said that the edifice was a world class masterpiece architecture designed and built by the rescue mission administration of the outgoing Governor of Imo state, Owelle Rochas Okorocha.
He contended that the gift to Imo Judiciary was coming at a time when the state was in dire need of court accommodation and facilities and averred that the commissioning of the new high court will go a long way to mitigating the present suffocating situation, insufficient court facilities which for many years gave rise to the uncomfortable situation where two or more judges share one court hall.
Justice Nnadi said that one could imagine the sigh of relief and re-invigoration that the court complex has given to the state  judiciary.
The event attracted who is who in the nation’s judiciary such as; Sir Edwin Arney Speed, Sir Ralf Combe, Fatai Williams, Kutigi Idris, Katsina Alu, Dahiru Mustapha, Gabriel Irikife, Ibrahim Muhammed, Walter Onoghen, among others.



Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *