Connect with us


Anambra Assembly confirms new LG bosses



MEMBERS of Anambra State House of Assembly on Tuesday, screened and confirmed transition committee (TC) chairmen for the 21 local government areas of the state.
Deputy Speaker, Harford Ikechukwu Osseke, who presided the plenary read out a letter from the governor which submitted the names of TC chairmen of the 21 LGAs and their members for consideration to the house to mark the beginning of screening.
Twenty of the TC chairmen and their members who will pilot the affairs of the LGAs for the next three months were screened. Among them were eventually confirmed by the legislators following the failure of  Echezona Ezeibe (chairman designate of Aguata) to scale through. Mr Ezeibe who was stepped down due to several petitions written against him.
The confirmed appointees include: Pius Ifeadi Anambra East, Sylvester Orji Anambra West, Ejiofor Ikeobi Anaocha, Leo Nwoba Awka South, Ben Onyeabor Ayamelum, Emeka Okonkwo, Dunukofia, Austine Enendu Ekwusigo, Nnabuife Raphael Idemili North.
Others are: Don Unachukwu, Idemili South, Ifeanyichukwu Odumegwu, Ihiala , John Edozie, Njikoka, Chukwudi Orizu, Nnewi North, Chieloka Okoye, Nnewi South, Arinze Ogbuku, Ogbaru, Agha Patrick Mbah, Onitsha North, Asoanya Emeka, Onitsha South, Ify Obinabo, Orumba North, Onyegu Raymond, Orumba South  and Nwadiogbu Nnamdi, Oyi.
In a vote of thanks, Nnabuife Raphael, chairman Idemili North, who spoke on behalf of other chairmen assured the law makers that they will put in their best for the betterment of their LGAs and the entire state.
Speaking to correspondents after the confirmation, Ify Obinebo chairman, Orumba  North, expressed optimism that with the continuous support from their LGAs, more peace and progress will be recorded.
She was full of gratitude to the people of Orumba for the love and trust showed so far, stating that she has been successful because of their support.
One minute silence was observed for the late Patrick Aniuno, who was seeking re-election until his death. He was the member representing Onitsha South 1 constituency at the present 6th assembly.
He died just days to the just concluded state assembly polls.
The notification of the demise of Echezona .O. Ekechi was announced by the deputy speaker.
Ekechi died last month. He was an honourable member from 2003-2007 legislative term of Anambra State House of Assembly .

You May Also Like:-  Gov Obiano, others console Ukachkwu on wife’s death
Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.