Connect with us


Assembly polls: APGA wins 24, PDP 6 in Anambra



All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA) has won 24 seats out of 30 while the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) won 6 seats at the just concluded house of assembly election in Anambra.
The present 6th assembly had 28 APGA members and 2 PDP members at the house.
It will be recalled that the Executive Governor of Anambra state and chairman Board of Trustee (BOT) Chief Wllie Obiano before the March 9th election rolled out every machenary available to him, to ensure that his party wins a majority of the seat.
Obaino, assembled all the ward chairmen, cordinators of various constituencies and other stakeholders of APGA in the state at Alex Ekwueme Square in Awka for a mega rally where he charged them to ensure that each politicians delivered their state constituencies to APGA candidates .
The governor made it clear that failing to do so may push the state to the old days when PDP was in power.
The number one citizen of the state publicly begged all especially agrived members to sheat their swords and also work for the emergence of APGA in the state assembly candidates.
He challenged stackholders saying “if the party did not enjoy majority in the lawmaking house, there were bound to be disturbances.
Obiano also meet with public servants at the Jerome Udoji sacretariate Awka were he carged them to ensure that APGA won all the 30 seats of the assembly which accound to him is the only way salaries will be paid regulally and as at when duo
In Anambra Central senatorial zone, APGA won nine seat while the only seat won by PDP was in the constituency of the vice presidential candidate of PDP mr. Peter Obi the former governor of the state.
Result from Anambra South senatorial zone showed that APGA won Aguata1, Aguata 2, Ihiala 1, Ihiala 2, Nnewi North, Nnewi South 1, Orumba North and Orumba South while PDP won in Ekwusigo and Nnewi south 2.
In Anambra North, APGA won in Anambra west, Anambra East, Ayamelum, Oyi, Onitsha North 2, Onitsha South 1 and Onitsha South 2 while PDP won in Onitsha North 1, Ogbaru 1 and Ogbaru 2.
Anambra central, APGA won in Aniocha 2, Awka North, Awka South 1, Awka South 2, Dunukofia, Idemili North, Idemili south, Njikoka 1 and Njikoka 2 while PDP won in Aniocha.
Apart from senator Stella Oduah who delivered her two Ogbaru constituencies, other political heavyweights such as the two brothers senator Andy Uba and Chris Uba, sen. Chris Ngige minister of labour and employment all lost their state constituencies to APGA.

You May Also Like:-  Soludo's transition... foretaste of his governance mode
Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.