Connect with us


AKHA sacks law makers for defecting to APC



HELL was loose last Monday in Uyo, Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly (AKHA) sacked five law makers who defected from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to the All Progressive Congress (APC).
The Speaker, Hon Onofiok Luke announced their sack during plenary according to a statement from the spokesperson of the Speaker, Kufre Okon.
The affected lawmakers are Nse Ntuen, who represented Essien Udim State Constituency, Otobong Ndem, Mkpat Enin State Constituency, Gabriel Toby Etim Ekpo/Ika State Constituency and Idongesit Ituen, representing Itu Sate Constituency, who had earlier appealed his case.
The Assembly presided other by the speaker, Hon Luke brushed aside a protest by the APC Youths at the Assembly to hold its sitting.
The Youth were protesting the earlier sacking of Hon Ntuen for defecting from PDP to APC.
National Light reports that unlike the removal of Hon Ntuen, which followed a Federal High Court Judgement, there is no court ruling or judgement, yet on the other four lawmakers.
The Speaker’s Spokesman said in the statement that the speaker’s action was in line with Section 109, of the 1999 Constitution of Nigeria as amended.

You May Also Like:-  Court affirms suspension of Labour Party Chair, three others
Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *