Connect with us


FIFA: The Best Men’s Player of the Year award nomination



Ronaldo, Modric and Salah, last three standing

AN interesting 2017-18 campaigns sees Lionel Messi removed for FIFA’s top award for the first time in 12 years
Cristiano Ronaldo, Luka Modric and Mohamed Salah have made the final three for FIFA’s The Best Men’s Player of the Year award.
Ronaldo and Modric both helped Real Madrid to Champions League glory prior to the former’s move to Juventus, with Salah scoring an incredible 44 goals in all competitions for Liverpool.
That means that there’s no place in the final three for Barcelona sensation, Lionel Messi, despite his exploits in helping the Catalan giants win the Liga title last season, as well as Antionne Griezmann who won the World Cup, UEFA Europa Cup and UEFA Super Cup.
Modric won UEFA’s award for best player of the year last season, which drew condemnation from Ronaldo’s agent, Jorge Mendes, for snubbing the top goalscorer in the Champions League .
Ronaldo’s move to Turin came after he eliminated Juventus from Europe with an empathic overhead kick, which also sees him nominated for FIFA’s Puskas award for the best goal of the season .
Croatia midfielder, Modric earns his place in the final three nominations for his performances as the Balkan nation reached the final of the World Cup for the first time in their history.
The 32-year-old won the Golden Ball for the best player at Russia 2018 ahead of the likes of Antoine Griezmann, Paul Pogba and Kylian Mbappe, who starred for winners France.
Mohamed Salah thrived for Liverpool as they reached final of the Champions League, although a shoulder injury from a foul by Real Madrid’s Sergio Ramos prevented him from having the ideal World Cup campaign with Egypt .
Ramos hit the headlines last week when he appeared to troll Salah by brushing his shoulder after accepting UEFA’s award for best defender in 2017-18.



Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *